2014 Writivism Short Story Prize Submissions Open

Opening date – 8 February 2014
Closing date – 30th April 2014

Entries must be submitted online, on the Writivism website. No mark as to the identity of the writer should be made on the story itself. No entries will be considered if submitted after this date. The competition long-list of fifteen to twenty five stories shall be announced on the 15th of May 2014. The short-list of five stories shall be announced on the 1st of June 2014.


Winners shall be announced on Short Story Day Africa, on the 21st of June 2014 at an awards evening during the Writivism Mini-Festival 2014 in Kampala, Uganda.

The current panel of judges brings together an excellent team of editors and writers with diverse voices.
Chair: Ellen Banda-Aaku.
Panellists: Zukiswa Wanner (Chair 2013 Prize panel), Emmanuel Sigauke, Glaydah Namukasa and Abubakar Adam Ibrahim.

Visit the Writivism website for more details.
Writivism is an initiative of the Centre for African Cultural Excellence, CACE.